black&white photo challenge … family

family heirloom …

family2

One morning when I visited my mother, she timidly set me aside and whispered that she wanted to talk to me about something.  In my parents’ room,  she handed me a beautifully crafted ring which I have known to be hers since I was a little girl.  I was so surprised I didn’t know how to react to such graciousness.  All she said was she wanted me to have it, something that will remind me of her. Tears almost unabashedly fell but i held them in check because my emotions were rambling inside me … tides of joy and fear clashed like my heart was being strangled.  All I could do was hug my mom, said a soft thank you and just hugged her some more.

As I write, I remember that exact moment … an experience beyond the heirloom of a ring, but a memory of love between my mother and me.

being part of the family …  my initial take on Sonel’s b&w photo challenge 

7 thoughts on “black&white photo challenge … family

  1. Stunning shot and story April! Great entry for the challenge and thanks so much for taking part. Much appreciated. 😀 *hugs*

    1. Hi Sonel, thank you for appreciating my efforts, means much 🙂 this is rather a very personal post but i thought it could encourage someone somehow … great prompt for the week, looking forward to joining you again — April

      1. I am glad you did April and I am sure it would. Memories like that are sometimes hard to bear and I am very glad you posted about it. 😀 *hugs*

please take a moment ... and tickle me pink!

