when memory served us better …

list

My thoughts on why it is important to use the old reliable pencil (or pen) and paper to write down anything and everything that is worth remembering, reflecting on, rendering or plainly reminding myself of plans, steps, dates and even payment dues are listed down as plainly … a list.

Thus, transcending the pain of realizing that absentmindedness is creeping at life’s doorstep, heralding the age when sunsets are not mere late afternoon occurrences, but a phase in one’s post golden years.

Lists are imagery of ideas, dreams, needs and even secret desires randomly or intentionally written down to uphold a plan, strategy or simply bring a smile to one’s heart. When memory served us better, lists were trivialized as a tiresome memoir of pencil pushing when the mind was the efficient storage of life’s opportunities, wisdom and rationality.

However, today as I reach the age when the fear of forgetfulness is setting in, my list of reasons why they are important is a rightful reminder that my comfort of remembrance leaps over the border of reality because my sufficiency is in the Lord.

As said in 2 Corinthians 12, verse 9 —

“And He has said to me, My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness. Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me.”

Nevertheless, read my inventory of thoughts when written down as gentle reminders for Christ’s sufficiency in my life.

  • a list gives a hefty optimism on life seemingly empty of promise; but my hope is in the Lord
  • a list is a good source of encouragement to open one’s heart to a beloved; and you my Lord, knows my heart
  • a list prioritizes the essentials and plays down the urgently mundane things in life
  • a list staggers the minutes into more significant moments that make the present a memorable past
  • a list will inspire the achievement of life’s purposes and will make the reality more attainable and meaningful

When an entry on the list is struck out, the fulfillment of the act transforms it from just a leap of joy into a victory in faith.

When the list is added upon until it seems endless, there will be more reason and opportunity to remember them in prayer.

Just writing a list will make one realize that there is actually more meaning to life than what one sees life to be. It will help one get through the day with more inspiration, as each note is a point to ponder on.

A list will make us thank God for all that He has done in our life and will make us expectant of what HE can still accomplish in it.

please take a moment ... and tickle me pink!

