plying the islands: candelaria, zambales

potipot1

A five-hour scenic drive to the northeastern part of manila is the prequel side trip to a beautiful island called “Potipot”. Small boats with no makeshift cover to shield you from the seething sun can sit five people at most and will take you to the white sands of Potipot for a fee of $10 (Php400).

potipot4

It is a short ride but the excitement at seeing the puny island from shore will make the trip seem longer. When we went there awhile back, there was no fee imposed, only a gentle reminder not to leave trash behind.

I remember that there were quite a number of people sharing the island with us. However, we were blessed to set camp on our small nook far from where they were. It was a rough set-up with nothing but our “sarongs” to lie down on and was shaded with the palms and unfamiliar trees strewn around.

potipot

There were big driftwoods scattered as well, and they became good sources of inspiration for capturing the beauty of the island. The kids didn’t bring any gadgets with them, and it was such a joy to see them take pleasure and appreciate what nature offered as a respite from urban distractions.

potipot2

I am setting my heart at taking this road trip once more with the family and hoping that the Lord will allow us to launch this meaningful journey soon.

Candelaria, Zambales Coordinates: 15° 1′ 0″ N, 120° 6′ 0″ E

One thought on “plying the islands: candelaria, zambales

  1. I had a mixture of feelings from excitement, joy, awe and a bit of sadness knowing that I will longing for the Island’s endless beauty and smiles. I’m glad you kids had an awesome time. My son after we went home last March said to his cousins, “I want to live in the Philippines.” I was both happy knowing he saw the priceless treasures of our country and a somewhat knowing it may be some time before we could go back. I share your wish when you wrote, “I am setting my heart at taking this road trip once more with the family and hoping that the Lord will allow us to launch this meaningful journey soon.” God bless you and your family. Merry Christmas my friend.

please take a moment ... and tickle me pink!

