story challenge: letter “O”

Ocean-dweller Ornaments

These are tacky and very touristy refrigerator magnets and as an islander, I will not be caught buying them. But when I had a jaunt with Bob to Paris, I had this amazing desire to buy an Eiffel Tower key chain and even an English red phone booth magnet from the UK.

Honestly, I am an old-school spoon collector and I have clutter to prove it!  And mind you, I am mighty happy and quite proud of the places each fancy utensil represents.

Yet, what amazes me is the irony of it all!  I cringe at the idea of spending any Peso for an island souvenir but I can excitedly spend Dollars, Pounds even Euros to bring home a piece of the locale I have travelled to.

This is a sad reality that I know I should accept and change.  After all, I should be the first one to appreciate the beauty of what my country is all about, so that I can proudly share the experience to everyone.  Whoever feels the same way, please have the same change of heart.

In hindsight, I would like to embrace this ONE world we live in, where there should be utter unity and ONENESS.

please try to take part in FrizzStory Challenge for the Letter “O”

2 thoughts on “story challenge: letter “O”

  1. “…I had this amazing desire to buy an Eiffel Tower key chain
    and even an English red phone booth magnet from the UK…”
    frizz: at least we have a certain kind of global ONENESS in a souvenir shop!

please take a moment ... and tickle me pink!

